CockadoodleBOO!

This morning I went over to get the chickens out of the shop.  They sleep in the shop, with the lights off and a sleeping bag thrown over their pen to keep them warm because one side and the top are only chicken wire, and also to make it even more dark.  Don’t worry, there are gaps in both sides for air flow.  As soon as I pull the sleeping bag off this morning, I am greeted with my first crow!  I was so excited!  Then I realized which bird was crowing.

This was supposed to be one of my pullets (female chicken under a year old, for those of you who aren’t familiar with the lingo)!!!  I’m excited that I finally got a crow (I’m sure I’ll be eating my words soon) but I’m disappointed in who it came from.

I know at the age we got them it can be difficult to tell which are females and which are males, but the lady we got them from said that all but one were females.  I took her word for it, since I had no clue what I was doing.  Now, it ends up that I most likely have at least 5, maybe 6 roosters, depending on if my little black one turns out to be a male or female.  I’m fairly certain that my light chicken, “Mama”, is a pullet.  Hopefully I’m correct.  I’m doubly disappointed since I lost one of my pullets yesterday.  She pulled a Fringe maneuver and just disappeared…most likely snagged by a hawk.

It was a cute, although pathetic attempt at a crow, though.  Since he’s just starting out, it was quiet and scratchy.  I’m sure in a couple months time I’ll be begging them to shut up.  haha!

Hi! I love to hear from you! Please tell me what you think.

