New Kids on the Block

I haven’t posted about my chickens in a while, and since I have some new kids to introduce I figured this is as good of a time as any.

A couple weeks ago I got  3 new chicks, Polish Crested.  Two of them came to me sick and they died within a week of having them.  The third one, though, is doing awesome!  Her name is Cricket, and she is adorable!  She will have crazy hair when she is an adult.

While she was alone she wasn’t very happy, so I gave her a lot of attention and she got very attached.  She is very friendly and loves to be held.  Since she was so lonely, though, I went and got her some friends. They were all hatched on the same date.  Cricket is teeny tiny compared to them, though.

This one is an Ameraucana/Cochin mix.  She (I think it is a pullet) is a very pretty bird.  I love her coloring.  Since she is part Cochin, she has feathered legs.

The next one is an Ameraucana mix, I think with Speckled Sussex based on its coloring, but I’m not sure.  I’m pretty sure it is a cockerel.  He is the biggest out of all of them.  He is Polydactyl and has double back toes.

The last one is an Ameraucana/? mix.  I have no clue what it is mixed with.  My son named it Gilligan. This one is small also, a little bit bigger than Cricket is.

They all get along really well and are the best of buds now.  Cricket doesn’t even freak out for me to come pick her up anymore.  *pout*  I kind of miss cuddling with my little chickie.

The last time I posted about my chickens I said that I was going to be getting some Barred Rock chicks.  They didn’t end up being Barred Rocks, but that’s okay.  I’m not quite sure what kind they are, I just call them my mystery chicks.  They free range peacefully with my older chicks but they still sleep in a brooder in my husband’s shop at night until my husband can get the coop built.  These guys will end up being butchered.

I now have a total of 16 chickens.  I think that is good for now, until we start butchering some of them.  Everyone that I have now is happy and healthy, which is good news!

Hi! I love to hear from you! Please tell me what you think.

