Whoever thought I would blow dry a chicken’s butt…

Mama

Mama is our oldest pullet.  Don’t you just love her round, puffy cheeks?  I have been waiting for what seems like ages for her to start laying eggs.  There are always risks with egg laying chickens, having them egg bound or a prolapsed vent.  I just hoped that I didn’t have to deal with that, at least for a while.

Tonight my husband comes inside and tells me “Mama has an egg sticking out of her butt”.  Ummm, okay.  I went over to check it out, and when I picked her up I found that, for the lack of a better term, she had an egg sticking out of her butt.  haha   I immediately got onto a chicken forum that I go to so I could find out what was going on, and I learned that she did have a prolapsed vent and her egg was stuck in the oviduct which was protruding outside of her body.  😦

I looked up ways to help her online.  I got a warm “bath” set up for her so help loosen up the oviduct so the egg could come out.  I set it up in a bucket in our laundry room sink.  I brought Mama inside, and just as I turned around to set her into the warm water, the egg came out and fell onto the concrete floor.  I was so sad that I didn’t even get to hold or take a picture of her first egg.  I took a picture of the shell, though.

Store bought white egg on the left, Mama's egg in the middle, one of our neighbor's brown eggs on the right

Anyway, I cleaned Mama up as much as I could.  She now has, basically, really bad hemorrhoids.  I wish we had some Preparation-H around, b/c I could put that on her to help, but we don’t.  I’ll have to pick some up at the store in case this happens again.

By the time I got her all cleaned up it was starting to get dark, and it was already pretty cool out today.  I didn’t want to leave her all wet, so I got my blow dryer out and I dried her butt.  Who would ever guess I would someday blow dry a chicken’s butt?  haha

Hopefully she is feeling better tomorrow.  She is isolated tonight, and until she is recovered so that the other chickens don’t peck at her and possibly kill her.  I really hope that this doesn’t happen again.  More than likely, though, it will.  We will have to decide at that point if it is worth it to continue to put her through that.  Sometimes raising livestock is really sad.

Hi! I love to hear from you! Please tell me what you think.

