Eggcellent!!

Our chicken started laying eggs recently!  Woohoo!  They have changed in color slightly over the week.  Her first egg was almost an olive color.  The next two were a blue-green color.  Now, the one she laid today is a beautiful turquoise color.  I love it!!  I’m so excited that she lays eggs that color.  That is what I was hoping for.

She has been separated from the other chickens b/c of her prolapse, but I put her in the coop last night and then let her free range again today.  She had been laying her eggs on the ground in the tractor she was in.  Today I made her a makeshift nesting box (until we can get the permanent ones built into the side of the door in the coop) out of an old cat litter container.  She came and watched me set it up, but still didn’t quite understand what it was for, so a while later my husband found her sitting on a self-made nest under our mini coop.

Luckily she hadn’t laid yet, so I picked her up and put her in the coop and locked her in.  I had put her last two eggs into the nesting box so she could get an idea of what it was for.  About an hour later I went back and looked inside, and she had laid an egg in the box!!  I was so happy and proud of her!  Hopefully she lays there tomorrow also.

Aren’t they beautiful?  The one in the back is the one she laid today.

One thought on “Eggcellent!!

Hi! I love to hear from you! Please tell me what you think.

