I will not play with fire…

This morning my husband was working in the shop when he needed something in the house. He came inside to the strong smell of sulfur. We have some matches sitting on our bar to light incense, and he immediately knew what went on. He asked our son “Why does it smell like sulfur in here?” and he said “I don’t know”. My husband said “That’s not true” and Greyson said in return “I lit one match.” My husband told him “DO NOT lie to me!” so Greyson said that he lit a bunch of matches. I was asleep b/c I haven’t been feeling well the past couple days, so I don’t know exactly what went on between the two of them after that point, but it ended up in Greyson being sent to his room…for the day.

Greyson obviously knew he did something seriously wrong b/c he literally stayed in his room all day, which is unusual for him. Normally he tries to distract us and hopes that we have forgotten that he is supposed to be in his room, so he can come out early. There was none of that today. I didn’t hear a peep from him all day.

At around 7:00 he did come out and gave his father a letter in a handmade envelope. This is what it said:

He wrote “I will not play with fire” 50 times, without being told to.

On the back, after the 50 lines, he wrote a note to his father.

It says:

“Dear Dad,
I hope you forgive me. I even punished myself. Please do not be disappointed in me. I do not know what I was thinking when I lit the matches. I didn’t think of the consequences of my actions. Once again, please forgive me for my actions.
Sincerely,
Greyson”

Did you hear that “thwap”?? That was the sound of my jaw hitting the floor.

3 thoughts on “I will not play with fire…

  1. Oh goodness!!! While it wasnt good to play with matches, I am very impressed by Greyson’s accepting responsibility for his actions.

    *hugs to you all*

Hi! I love to hear from you! Please tell me what you think.

